Rounds of applause: Spring 2022

Recent awards and achievements of the UF College of Medicine community

  • Christopher E. Bayne, M.D., a clinical assistant professor in the department of urology, has been recognized as a top reviewer in 2022 for the Journal of Urology.

  • Hannah Costello, Ph.D., a postdoctoral scholar in the lab of Michelle Gumz, Ph.D., received the Research Recognition Award, Renal Section from the American Physiology Society.

  • Shanan Emmanuel, a Ph.D. candidate in the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program, was awarded the Association for Academic Women’s NSF Emerging STEM Scholar Award, supported by associate professor Aysegul Gunduz, Ph.D.’s National Science Foundation Early CAREER Award.

  • Laura Guyer, Ph.D., an adjunct associate professor, has been selected as the recipient of the 2022 National Diversity Council’s Dr. Harry Gibbs Legacy Award. The award is given to one individual who is a top leader in the health care field, exemplifies leadership and diversity in health care and is creating their own legacy in this field.

  • Grant Harrell, M.D., an assistant professor of community health and family medicine and medical director of the UF Mobile Outreach Clinic, was recognized by the Florida Rural Health Association as a 2021 was Rural Physician of the Year.

  • Emely Haviaras, R.N., has been named the UF College of Medicine Florence Nightingale Award winner for 2022.  She was recognized by her peers for her performance and dedication to nursing.

  • Michael Jaffee, M.D., FAAN, FANA, a professor and vice chair of the department of neurology, has been named to the editorial board of the American Academy of Neurology’s Brain and Life Magazine.

  • Helen Jones, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of physiology and functional genomics, has received the 2022 Andree Gruslin Award from the International Federation of Placenta Associations. The prize is offered every year to an outstanding female mid-career investigator in the field of placental or placental-related biology.

  • Erica Levitt, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the department of pharmacology and therapeutics, has been award a 2022 Early Career Award from the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, or ASPET, Division of Pharmacology. ASPET is the premier scientific organization for pharmacologists.

  • Tyler Loftus, M.D., an assistant professor in the department of surgery, was selected as the 2022 Thomas H. Maren Junior Investigator Awardee for his research project “Aligning Patient Acuity with Resource Intensity after Major Surgery.” The fund supports junior investigators in the College of Medicine with the talent and inclination to pursue a career of scientific discovery and provides supplemental funding for promising research projects by postdoctoral fellows as a transition to scientific independence.

  • Hiro Miyagi, M.D., a resident in the department of urology, received a 2022 Best Poster Award at the Society of Women in Urology conference. Her work evaluates gender disparities in bladder cancer trials.

  • Stefan Prokop, M.D., an assistant professor in the department of pathology, immunology and laboratory medicine, is a 2022 recipient of UF’s Excellence Award for Assistant Professors.