Celebrating Distinction ceremony honors achievements of UF Health faculty

Drs. Carol Mathews and Herbert Ward with chairs

Carol Mathews, M.D., and Herbert Ward, M.D., were among the UF College of Medicine faculty members honored at the UF Health Science Center’s Celebrating Distinction Ceremony. Photo by Mindy C. Miller

Nineteen members of the UF College of Medicine faculty, along with two from the College of Nursing, three from the College of Pharmacy, two from the College of Veterinary Medicine and one from the College of Public Health and Health Professions, were recognized for their achievements at the Celebrating Distinction ceremony, held in the McKnight Brain Institute on Oct. 26.

Each faculty member received a wooden chair with a gold nameplate to represent his or her appointment to an endowed professorship or chair position. Appointment to a professorship or chair is among the highest honors a college can bestow on a faculty member, and it’s usually reserved for scholars of national or international acclaim.

Senior vice president for UF Health affairs and president of UF Health David S. Guzick, M.D., Ph.D., provided the opening and closing remarks for the ceremony. He said a record was set this year for the number of recipients and donors present.

“These endowments are not only honorific, but there are practical benefits. The income from these endowed chairs will fund new research that otherwise wouldn’t be done,” he said. “As you all know, at the Health Science Center, we were doing preeminence before preeminence was cool.”

Michael L. Good, M.D., dean of the UF College of Medicine, presented each College of Medicine honoree with his or her chair. He spoke highly of Regina Bussing, M.D., chair of the department of psychiatry, who received the Donald R. Dizney chair in psychiatry.

“I refer to Gina as calm but forceful,” he said. “Her calm demeanor is disarming, and she usually gets what she wants.”

Bussing said, “It’s very inspiring to see support for our academic missions and the opportunity to enhance academic scholarship this provides.”

Azra Bihorac, M.D., M.S., FASN, FCCM, was named the R. Glenn Davis, M.D., Dialysis Clinic Inc. professor in nephrology. R. Glenn Davis, M.D, who was present at the ceremony, completed his medical training, residency and fellowship at UF before starting the nonprofit organization Dialysis Clinic Inc.

“It means a tremendous amount to be here today,” he said. “I’m very honored to be part of this school.”

Brian L. Hoh, M.D., chief of the division of cerebrovascular surgery and associate chair of neurosurgery at the UF College of Medicine, received the James and Brigette Marino Family professorship in cerebrovascular and endovascular neurosurgery. His brother, Daniel J. Hoh, M.D., an associate professor of neurosurgery, received the Dunspaugh-Dalton Foundation Inc. professorship in brain and spinal surgery. Good noted this marks the first instance of siblings being simultaneously inducted into endowed professorships at the UF College of Medicine.

“This was an especially great day for UF Health, and in particular, for my brother and I and our family,” Brian Hoh said. “We’re incredibly indebted to the generous donors who provided these gifts.”


College of Medicine honorees

Azra Bihorac, M.D., M.S., FASN, FCCM
Glenn Davis, M.D., Dialysis Clinic Inc. Professorship in Nephrology

Regina Bussing, M.D.
Donald R. Dizney Chair in Psychiatry

Segundo Joel Cardenas-Goicoechea, M.D.
Nell Bryant Kibler Professorship in Ovarian Cancer Research

Peter J. Carek, M.D., M.S.
Sue and Louis C. Murray, M.D., Professorship in Family Medicine

Jean E. Cibula, M.D.
B.J. and Eve Wilder Professorship for Epilepsy

Kirk P. Conrad, M.D.
Robert and Mary Cade Professor of Physiology

Michael Haller, M.D.
Silverstein Family Eminent Scholar Chair in Pediatric Endocrinology

Daniel J. Hoh, M.D.
Dunspaugh-Dalton Foundation Inc. Professorship in Brain and Spinal Surgery

Brian L. Hoh, M.D.
The James and Brigette Marino Family Professorship in Cerebrovascular and Endovascular Neurosurgery

Jonathan D. Licht, M.D.
Marshall E. Rinker Sr. Foundation and David B. and Leighan R. Rinker Chair

Chihray R. Liu, Ph.D.
Thomas P. Mitchell Professorship in Clinical Physics

Carol Mathews, M.D.
Brooke Professorship

Lyle “Linc” Moldawer, Ph.D.
Robert H. and Kathleen M. Axline Professorship in Surgery

Ray E. Moseley, Ph.D.
Grace H. Osborn Professorship of Medical Ethics and Humanities

Laura P.W. Ranum, Ph.D.
Kitzman Family Professorship

Lee Sweeney, Ph.D.
Thomas H. Maren, M.D., Eminent Chair in Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Scott A. Teitelbaum, M.D.
Pottash Professorship in Psychiatry and Neuroscience

Herbert Ward, M.D.
Kaine Professorship

College of Nursing honorees

Anna M. McDaniel, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN
Linda Harman Aiken Endowed Professorship

Diana J. Wilkie, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN
Prairieview Trust – Earl and Margo Powers Endowed Professorship

College of Pharmacy honorees

Chenglong Li, Ph.D.
Nicholas Bodor Professorship in Drug Discovery

Almut Winterstein, Ph.D.
Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy

Chengguo “Chris” Xing, Ph.D.
Frank A. Duckworth Eminent Scholar Chair in Drug Research and Development

College of Public Health and Health Professions honoree

Glenn E. Smith, Ph.D., ABPP-CN
Elizabeth H. Faulk Professorship

College of Veterinary Medicine honorees

Sarah Boston, D.V.M., DVSc, Dipl. ACVS
Jean Imparato Endowed Term Professorship in Canine Oncology

David Freeman, M.V.B., Ph.D., Dipl. ACVS
Martha and Arthur Appleton Endowed Professorship in Equine Studies