Championing compassionate care

UF College of Medicine students, faculty and residents came together to celebrate compassionate health care at the 15th annual Chapman Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society banquet and induction ceremony held May 4.

The event, which took place at Emerson Alumni Hall, included the induction of 38 fourth-year medical students, six residents and two faculty members who best exemplified humanism and compassion in medicine. Each member received a pin and certificate, which serve as physical representations of their commitment to the society’s ideals.

For the first time, the induction ceremony also included recognizing two faculty members and 20 resident members of the society’s newly formed Resident Chapter. As part of the second round of the Gold Humanism Honor Society and Arnold P. Gold Foundation’s pilot project of chapters in residency training programs, the UF College of Medicine chapter joined 14 other chapters of its kind in the nation.

The banquet also included the annual presentation of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, which recognizes a faculty member and a student for demonstrating clinical excellence and upholding the Gold Foundation’s ideals of providing compassionate care and respect for patients, families and colleagues. This year’s recipients were pathology and obstetrics and gynecology professor Nancy Hardt, M.D., HS ’81, HS ’90, and fourth-year medical student Kenneth Caldwell.

The 2014-2015 Chapman Chapter inductees are as follows:


  • Nancy Hardt, M.D.*
  • Robert Hollander, M.D.


  • Isidore Daniel Benrubi, M.D.*
  • Andrew Boulos, M.D.
  • Safia Ilyas, M.D.
  • Esther Mihindu, D.O.
  • Olivia Potter, D.O.
  • Price Ward, M.D.

Medical students

  • George Ansoanuur
  • Camila Avila
  • Shannon E. Brockman
  • Brittany S. Bruggeman
  • Kenneth J. Caldwell
  • Meredith S. Campbell
  • Grant F. Chernoby
  • Montserrat Corbera
  • Andrew B. Cutler
  • Camille G. C. Dessaigne
  • Nathan A. Eivaz
  • George E. Eldayrie
  • Laura E. Emerson
  • Gabriela E. Fernandez
  • Andres Gonzalez
  • Kyle J. Dalton Gray
  • Edward T. Haupt
  • Catherine C. Herrington
  • Peter J. Hong
  • Jasmine K. Kalsi
  • Christopher P. Lake
  • Derek T. Lee
  • Emily M. Lin
  • Jason P. Ludlow
  • Natalya P. Maharaj
  • Lindsay M. McCullough
  • Morgan M. McGuire
  • Veronica L. Novosad
  • Lillie E. O’Steen
  • Nadia L. Palma
  • Michael D. Robinson
  • Scott C. Roemer
  • Adam M. Ross
  • Stacey M. Scheick
  • Erik C. Su
  • Michael B. Tudeen
  • Travus J. White
  • Pengcheng Zhang


The 2014-2015 Resident Chapter inductees are as follows:


  • Chad Hood, M.D.*
  • Leonardo Rodriguez, M.D


  • Blair Abelson, M.D.
  • Andrea Brownridge, M.D.
  • David Buczkowske, D.O.
  • William Cutting, M.D.
  • Dianne Goede, M.D.
  • David Hall, M.D.*
  • Michael Herman, M.D.
  • Maneesha Jamnadas, M.D. *
  • Kevin Johnson, M.D.
  • Nancy Joseph, M.D.
  • Tyler Loftus, M.D
  • Juan Mira, M.D.
  • Diana Montoya-Williams, M.D.
  • Onyekachukwu Osakwe, M.D.
  • Adarsh Patel, M.D.*
  • Jordan Preiss, M.D.
  • Kyle Staton, M.D.
  • Priya Tanna, M.D.
  • Kae Watanabe, M.D.
  • Ideen Zeinali, M.D.

*Denotes a graduate or former resident of the UF College of Medicine

Photos by W. Charles Poulton