Honoring humanism

UF College of Medicine students, residents, faculty and guests celebrated the annual induction of new members, including the late David A. Paulus, M.D., at the annual Chapman Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society banquet held April 22.

The society, which recognizes those who demonstrate compassion and humanism in medicine, inducted 23 fourth-year medical students, six residents and two faculty members during the ceremony in the Broad-Bussel Atrium of the Biomedical Sciences Building.

One of the two faculty members inducted was Paulus, who passed away unexpectedly Dec. 12 as he slept. He was a professor in the department of anesthesiology and in the College of Engineering’s department of mechanical engineering. A scholar, innovator and leader, Paulus is remembered as someone who had a passion for making sure that patients had exceptional, safe experiences, and who had an unshakeable commitment to his colleagues.

This year’s Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine award, recognizing outstanding examples of clinical excellence and humanism, went to faculty member Beverly Vidaurreta, Ph.D, who is an assistant professor and program director of the College of Medicine’s Student Counseling and Development office, and fourth-year medical student Vikram Narayan.

Approximately 15 percent of the fourth-year class is inducted into the society each year. Student inductees are chosen by a selection committee and based on peer evaluation. Faculty and resident members are nominated by students.

Congratulations to the 2012-2013 inductees:


The late David A. Paulus, M.D.
Beverly Vidaurreta, Ph.D


Brandon Allen, M.D.
Devon Cole, M.D.
Jonathan Holloway, M.D.
Mark Laudenschlager, M.D.
Maren Locke, M.D.
Makesha Miggins, M.D.

Medical Students

Melanie Adamsky
Brett Chandler Bentley
Ashley Black
Elizabeth Byrne
Lauren Cooper
Natasha Deming
Iain Sean Elliott
Brian Fitzgerald Jr.
Melissa Kalbhenn Fitzgerald
Jennifer Goetz
Jonathan Green
Jessica Greer
Sarah Scarlet Kim
Joshua Kramer
Lauren Lee
Aimee Morris
Amanda Musto
Vikram Narayan
Mailan Nguyen
Yeon-Jung Park
Chloe Russo
Meera Srikanthan
Erin Wilmer