Start of a new tradition

William Miles, M.D., professor of medicine in the division of cardiovascular medicine and director of clinical cardiac electrophysiology, received the Silverstein Chair for Cardiovascular Education. Michael L. Good, M.D., dean of the UF College of Medicine, presented a medal of appreciation to Burt Silverstein, whose son made a gift in his honor. Photo by Jesse S. Jones

Appointment to a professorship or chair is one of the highest honors an academic institution bestows on its faculty members. 

The UF Health Science Center honored 17 newly endowed professors during its inaugural Celebrating Distinction ceremony Oct. 12. Some of the professorships were brand new, while others were named during the past year. 

With resounding applause from colleagues and families filling the new auditorium at the College of Veterinary Medicine, the recipients were awarded specially engraved chairs to mark their achievements. 

While welcoming more than 100 faculty, staff and guests to the ceremony via a video message, David S. Guzick, M.D., Ph.D., UF senior vice president for health affairs and president of the UF&Shands Health System, called this event the start of what will become an important tradition at the UF Health Science Center. 

Nancy Price Mendenhall, M.D., the first woman to serve as a department chair at the UF College of Medicine, received the James E. Lockwood Jr., Professorship in Proton Therapy and shook hands with Michael L. Good, M.D., dean of UF College of Medicine. Photo by Jesse S. Jones

“Buildings are constructed a brick at a time, but great universities are built chair by chair,” Guzick said, adding that endowed professorships and chairs create an enduring legacy that provides stability across generations in the academic pursuit of improving health care in our community and around the world. 

UF President J. Bernard Machen, who hosted the event, instituted the Faculty Now Initiative through which the university immediately matches four percent of donors’ gifts. Several of the professorships honored at the ceremony were made possible through the initiative. 

“This celebration embodies what UF is all about,” Machen said. “We’re here to help people lead healthier, happier and more fulfilling lives. The generosity of the donors helps us recognize our productive faculty.” 

Mark T. Scarborough, M.D., the first recipient of William F. Enneking, William E. Anspach, and Orthopaedic Alumni Endowed Chair, celebrated with Michael L. Good, M.D., dean of UF College of Medicine. Photo by Jesse S. Jones.

College deans announced the endowed professorships and gave tributes. Donors who attended the ceremony also received medals of appreciation. 

Michael L. Good, M.D., dean of the UF College of Medicine, congratulated the diligent faculty and publicly thanked the donors for their support in ensuring the continuity of innovation that makes UF and its colleges great. 

“What you do makes a difference and it helps us to move forward,” Good said. “I am already looking forward to next year’s ceremony.”

College of Public Health and Health Professions 

R. Paul Duncan, Ph.D.
Malcom and Christine Randall Professorship in Health Services Research, Management and Policy

College of Pharmacy

Richard Segal, Ph.D.
Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy

College of Medicine – Jacksonville 

Linda Edwards, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Karl B. Hanson Sr., M.D., Professor of Internal Medicine 

Jeffrey Goldhagen, M.D., M.P.H.
Community Hospice of Northeast Florida/Neviaser Family Professorship in Pediatric Palliative Care

College of Medicine 

William L. Allen, J.D., M.Div.
William A. Shands Professorship in Medical History and Ethics 

David Feller, M.D.
Elizabeth Dell Scheveling Professorship in Integrative Medicine 

C. Parker Gibbs, M.D.
Eugene L. Jewett Professor or Orthopaedic Surgery 

Anthony R. Gregg, M.D.
B.L. Stalnaker Professorship in Obstetrics and Gynecology 

Steven J. Hughes, M.D.
Cracchiolo Family Professorship in Surgery 

Nancy Price Mendenhall, M.D.
James E. Lockwood Jr., Professorship in Proton Therapy 

William M. Miles, M.D., F.A.C.C.
Silverstein Chair for Cardiovascular Education 

Michael Moser, M.D.
Huizenga Professorship in Sports Medicine 

Susan Nayfield, M.D.
Ruth Jewett Professorship in Geriatrics 

Paul Okunieff, M.D.
Marshall E. Rinker Sr. Foundation and David B. and Leighan R. Rinker Chair 

Nicole M. Paradise Black, M.D.
Reed Bell Professorship in Pediatrics 

Mark T. Scarborough, M.D.
William F. Enneking, William E. Anspach, and Orthpaedic Alumni Endowed Chair 

Nadeem I. Shafi, M.D.
Paula Koch Professorship in Pediatric Critical Care