It is Award Season at the COM

OK, it’s not the Oscars, but it is award season at the College of Medicine. And the Eighth Annual Medical Education Banquet is just the place to announce several of the awards presented for the academic year 2007-2008.

This year’s banquet, to be held Monday, April 28 at Emerson Alumni Hall, will include special recognition for student contributions, staff contributions, outstanding resident teachers and exemplary teacher awards as well as master educator fellows.

“It is important for us to identify and recognize those people who take a vital role in the education of medical students, residents and graduate students at this college,” explained Kyle Rarey, Ph.D., interim senior associate dean for educational affairs. “There are many who contribute to our mission, including staff members, students, residents as well as faculty. This is our opportunity to thank them.”

Christy Ewing and Carol McAllister, from the Office of Minority Affairs will be honored Monday for their contribution to medical education at UF. Click here for more about them.

Medical students to be honored for their role in enhancing medical education are fourth-year students Bhavin Adhyaru, Ronald Butendieck Jr., Ryan Slattery, Christiana Smith and Penny Thomas.

This year’s COM Basic Science Teacher of the Year is Daniel L. Purich, Ph.D., department of biochemistry and molecular biology. Thomas K. Morrissey, M.D., is awarded the 2008 COM Clinical Science Teacher of the Year. Morrissey is with the department of emergency medicine at the Jacksonville campus. The Class of 2008 Basic Science Teacher of the Year is Sigurd Normann, M.D., Ph.D., from the department of pathology, immunology and laboratory medicine. And the Class of 2008 Clinical Science Teacher of the Year is Patricia Abbitt, M.D., department of radiology.

Michael Mahla, M.D., department of anesthesiology and Maureen Novak, M.D., department of pediatrics and associate dean for medical education, are the 2008 Society of Teaching Scholars inductees.

The prestigious Hippocratic Award, given by the graduating class to the faculty member who best represents the highest ideals of professionalism, compassion and teaching skill, will be presented later this week.