Faculty Roundup

Dr. William Cance

William Cance, M.D., chairman of the department of surgery, was elected president of the prestigious Society of Surgical Oncology. Founded in 1940, the Society of Surgical Oncology is an organization of surgeons, scientists and health-care providers that focuses on advancing scientific treatment for cancer.


Drs. Sharda Udassi, from the department of pediatrics, Felicia Snead, MD, from the department of radiation oncology, and Carolyn Stalvey, department of medicine, were selected to attend the AAMC Early Career Women Professional Development Seminar to be held July 12-15, 2008. Dean Bruce Kone commended their department chairs for mentoring and nominating the physicians, stating it is an important opportunity for developing leaders.


Five faculty members were selected to receive a UF Research Foundation Professorship Award. They include Dr. David Nelson, of the department of medicine, Dr. Dietmar Siemann, from radiation oncology, Dr. Sankar Swaminathan, department of medicine, Dr. Charles Wingo, department of medicine), and Dr. Laurence Morel, department of pathology. The three-year professorships were created to recognize faculty who have established a distinguished record of research and scholarship that is expected to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.